Golden State Warriors

Bet With Confidence
Get up to $2,500 Signup Bonus

Golden State Warriors

The Golden State Warriors, hailing from San Francisco, stand proud in the NBA’s Western Conference. Originally from Philadelphia, they were founded in 1946. Their first taste of championship victory was through the Basketball Association of America (BAA), where future Hall of Famer Joe Fulks showcased his skills. 1955–56 saw them clinch their first NBA title, with Paul Arizin and Neil Johnston at the helm.

Chamberlain’s Era

By 1959, Philadelphia had a new star: Wilt Chamberlain. Known for his historic 100-point game in 1962, his time with the Warriors was unforgettable. Post this achievement, a move was made to San Francisco, renaming the team to San Francisco Warriors. Chamberlain’s dominance continued, yet titles eluded them until the late ’60s.

From San Francisco to Golden State

The early 1970s marked another shift. The team moved to Oakland, now known as the Golden State Warriors. Al Attles, a former player, took charge, steering the Warriors to an NBA title win in 1974-75 with Rick Barry’s assistance. But after a few playoff appearances, a decline was evident.

Run T.M.C. and the Don Nelson Era

The late 1980s saw Don Nelson’s up-tempo style, symbolized by the “Run T.M.C.” era with Tim Hardaway, Mitch Richmond, and Chris Mullin.

The team played fast and scored big. Still, success in the playoffs remained elusive, leading to Nelson’s departure in 1995. Following that, the Warriors hit a rough patch, struggling to clinch playoff spots.

Rise of the Warriors

By 2006-07, a new hope emerged. With Nelson back and a playoff appearance after 13 years, they stunned the Dallas Mavericks. But real dominance began with the arrival of Stephen Curry.

The team transformed when Steve Kerr took over as head coach in 2014. 67 wins in the 2014-15 season, and an NBA title was just the beginning.

The Durant Era

A game-changer was on the horizon. Kevin Durant joined the squad, and the 2016-17 season showcased the Warriors’ strength, leading to another NBA title. Despite injuries in the 2017-18 season, their championship spirit remained intact, securing another NBA title against the Cavaliers.

Challenges and Triumphs

2018-19 was a mix of highs and lows. While they made NBA history with five consecutive conference titles, injuries to Durant and Klay Thompson cast shadows on their dynasty’s future.

2019 marked a full circle for the Warriors, returning to San Francisco after nearly half a century. The subsequent seasons, however, were marked by injuries, including a notable one to Curry. The 2020-21 season saw Curry back in action, leading to a winning record.


The 2021-22 season heralded the return of Thompson. Tying for the third-best regular-season record in the NBA, their vast postseason experience shone brightly. Defeating their opponents, they clinched their fourth NBA title in eight seasons, again proving their mettle.


Ready to Win?


When you make your first deposit, and get up to $2,500 sign up bonus.

From the comfort of your mobile device, place your bets and have fun betting.


Trust the experts. BUSR is the first place people go for the latest odds in horse racing, sports and entertainment.