Minnesota Vikings

Minnesota Vikings

Rooted in Minneapolis, Minnesota, the Vikings, an American professional football team, were established in 1961. A team recognized as part of the National Football Conference (NFC) of the National Football League (NFL), they’ve participated in four Super Bowls (1970, 1974, 1975, and 1977), unfortunately coming up short each time. However, there’s more to the Vikings’ history. Their only NFL championship was seized in 1969, just before the pivotal merger between the NFL and the American Football League. The most prosperous era for the Vikings can be traced back to the appointment of head coach Bud Grant in 1967. The team made it to all its Super Bowl appearances with his guidance.


Bud Grant and the Purple People Eaters

Under Grant’s leadership, a Hall of Fame inductee, the Vikings saw the rise of the “Purple People Eaters” – a fierce defensive line with two Hall of Fame inductees, Alan Page and Carl Eller. Paired with this tenacious defense was an efficient offensive led by Fran Tarkenton, another Hall of Famer. Tarkenton redefined the quarterback role, using his running ability to make plays. Between 1968 and 1978, the Vikings made the playoffs 10 times in 11 seasons. Yet, their inability to clinch a Super Bowl victory, a record they share with the Buffalo Bills of the 90s, remains a bitter memory.


Ups and Downs in the NFL

The Vikings’ performance dipped in the 1980s, capped by a catastrophic 1989 trade with the Dallas Cowboys. In return for the underachieving running back Herschel Walker, the Vikings gave up draft choices that allowed Dallas to secure future NFL legends like Emmitt Smith and Darren Woodson. The latter part of the 1990s saw a resurgence of the Vikings. Their offense, featuring running back Robert Smith and wide receivers Cris Carter and Randy Moss, was explosive. Their 1998 team scored an NFL record 556 points, and despite a 15–1 record, a surprising loss to the Atlanta Falcons in the NFC championship game was an unexpected setback.


A New Hope and Continued Struggles

In 2007, the emergence of rookie running back Adrian Peterson, who set the record for most rushing yards in a single game, brought renewed optimism to fans. After adding Brett Favre to their roster, the Vikings qualified for the playoffs in 2008 and 2009. However, their journey ended with a close defeat to the New Orleans Saints in the NFC championship game. A steep decline followed in 2011, with three quarterbacks and a record-tying 13 losses. But Peterson, recovering from a significant knee injury, helped the team bounce back in 2012 with an incredible 2,097 rushing yards. However, a first-round loss to the Packers ended their playoff run.


Recent Performance and Outlook

In 2017 the Vikings tied for the best NFL record by going 13–3. After winning a remarkable playoff win over the Saints, the team faltered in the NFC championship game against the Philadelphia Eagles. Despite being Super Bowl favorites in 2018, the team won only eight games, failing to make the playoffs. However, the Vikings rebounded in 2019, winning 10 games and advancing to the playoffs, where they upset the Saints. Their journey ended with a loss to the San Francisco 49ers in the divisional round.

Ready to Win?


When you make your first deposit, and get up to $2,500 sign up bonus.

From the comfort of your mobile device, place your bets and have fun betting.


Trust the experts. BUSR is the first place people go for the latest odds in horse racing, sports and entertainment.