New England Patriots

New England Patriots

The team was established in 1960 as the Boston Patriots and its early years in the American Football League (AFL) were marked by a spirited display of team spirit. Standouts included quarterback Vito (“Babe”) Parilli, linebacker Nick Buoniconti, and wide receiver Gino Cappelletti. These first years saw a triumphant second season, a ticket to the AFL championship in their fourth, and a move to the National Football League (NFL) during the 1970 AFL-NFL merger.


The Patriots Find a New Home

In 1971, a relocation to Foxborough led to the christening of the team as the New England Patriots. Throughout the 70s and 80s, the team saw sporadic successes, led by figures like John Hannah, Steve Grogan, and Mike Haynes. Their efforts bore fruit in 1986, securing the Patriots’ first Super Bowl appearance against the Chicago Bears, although this ended in a loss. Under coach Bill Parcells and quarterback Drew Bledsoe, the Patriots advanced to Super Bowl XXXI against Green Bay, marking three straight years of playoff football.


The Belichick-Brady Era

Bill Belichick’s arrival as head coach in 2000 ushered in a golden era. Capitalizing on under-the-radar veteran free agents and astute draft picks, Belichick built a powerhouse team. An injury to Bledsoe in 2001 opened the door for Tom Brady, an unexpected hero who led the Patriots to a Super Bowl win the following February. Brady’s leadership saw the Patriots claim four more Super Bowl victories in 2004, 2005, 2015, and 2017.


Breaking Records

With the addition of All-Pro wide receiver Randy Moss in 2007, the Patriots shattered offensive records and posted the only 16-0 regular-season record in NFL history. Although a Super Bowl win eluded them, the Patriots remained a high-scoring force. The team’s high performance persisted well into the next decade, including a 12-4 record and an AFC championship game appearance in the following seasons.


Super Bowl Comeback

A remarkable Super Bowl comeback occurred in 2017. Overcoming a 25-point third-quarter deficit to the Atlanta Falcons, the Patriots made Super Bowl history by winning their fifth championship in overtime.


Recent Dominance (2018-2019)

In 2018, the Patriots continued to dominate, winning another division title and securing a third straight Super Bowl. This game, the lowest-scoring Super Bowl in history, saw the Patriots defeating the Los Angeles Rams, securing their sixth title, and tying the Pittsburgh Steelers for most Super Bowl wins. Despite an 11th straight AFC East title in 2019, a first-round postseason bye eluded the Patriots, leading to an early playoff exit.

Ready to Win?


When you make your first deposit, and get up to $2,500 sign up bonus.

From the comfort of your mobile device, place your bets and have fun betting.


Trust the experts. BUSR is the first place people go for the latest odds in horse racing, sports and entertainment.