Phoenix Suns

Bet With Confidence
Get up to $2,500 Signup Bonus

Phoenix Suns

The Phoenix Suns, emerging from the scorching deserts of Arizona, have etched their mark on NBA history. Established in 1968, the Suns have proudly represented Phoenix, making waves throughout the NBA.

Over the years, they’ve claimed three coveted Western Conference titles: 1976, 1993, and the memorable 2021 season.

The Early Years

The early years of the Suns were promising. With talents like Dick Van Arsdale, fondly known as the Original Sun, and Hall of Famer Connie Hawkins taking to the court, Phoenix fans had much to cheer.

The highlight of this era came in 1976. Under the impressive leadership of Alvan Adams and Paul Westphal, the Suns, dubbed the Sunderella Suns, blazed their way to the NBA finals. Here they faced off against the Boston Celtics in an unforgettable six-game series.

A standout memory for many was the grueling triple-overtime clash in game five. Despite their spirited performance, the Suns couldn’t overpower the Celtics, conceding the title in the sixth game.

Reinvention and Rising Challenges

1977 saw a fresh face arrive: Walter Davis, a remarkable talent who would eventually become the franchise’s all-time leading scorer during his 11-year tenure. The Suns showed they weren’t afraid of change as the years progressed.

Kevin Johnson was traded mid-season in 1987-88 and, combined with Tom Chambers’ arrival, helped push the Suns back into the limelight. This renewed vigor saw the Suns make two consecutive conference final appearances in 1989 and 1990, a precursor to a remarkable run of 13 straight playoff appearances.

In a bid to capture an elusive NBA championship, 1992 brought Charles Barkley to Phoenix. His impact was immediate, claiming the NBA’s MVP award in his debut season and leading the Suns to the 1993 NBA finals. However, they faced a formidable Chicago Bulls team and fell short of the title.

Turn of the Century Shifts

The dawn of the new millennium saw Phoenix embracing change. In 2002, the high school sensation Amar’e Stoudemire was drafted, and by 2004, Steve Nash returned to the franchise.

The combination of Nash’s fast-paced style with Stoudemire and Shawn Marion’s athletic prowess turned the Suns into a formidable offensive unit. However, the team couldn’t break past the conference finals even with such talent.

Shaquille O’Neal was acquired in a bold move during the 2007–08 season. The intent was clear: to bolster their defense. Yet, the unexpected results led to O’Neal’s exit in 2009. The subsequent seasons saw a shift in dynamics, but a young Suns team, led by Nash and Stoudemire, made waves in the 2009-10 season, eventually falling to the Los Angeles Lakers in the conference finals.

A New Horizon

Post-2010, challenges arose. Several seasons were lackluster, with the Suns becoming one of the NBA’s struggling teams. Yet, resilience is the Suns’ trademark. By the end of the 2019-20 season, with Devin Booker’s exceptional skills and the acquisition of superstar Chris Paul in 2020, the Suns transformed.

Under Coach Monty Williams’ guidance, the team showcased its prowess in the 2020-21 season. They dominated the Western Conference playoffs and made a stellar appearance in the NBA finals. Though they narrowly missed the championship title against the Milwaukee Bucks.


Ready to Win?


When you make your first deposit, and get up to $2,500 sign up bonus.

From the comfort of your mobile device, place your bets and have fun betting.


Trust the experts. BUSR is the first place people go for the latest odds in horse racing, sports and entertainment.