Denver Broncos

Denver Broncos

Founded in 1960, the Denver Broncos, part of the American Football League (AFL), didn’t find immediate success. During the AFL’s existence, the team never achieved a winning record, and they found themselves at the bottom of the division six times. Notable players during this period were wide receiver Lionel Taylor and running back Floyd Little. The team’s performance continued to be subpar even after the 1970 NFL-AFL merger, with their first winning season only coming in 1973.


Orange Crush Rises

A turnaround was seen in 1977. Guided by linebackers Randy Gradishar, Tom Jackson, and the “Orange Crush” defense, the Broncos claimed the best record in the conference. Winning their first two postseason games, they reached the Super Bowl only to lose to the Dallas Cowboys. Postseason appearances in the following two seasons ended in early losses. An 8-8 finish in 1980 led to head coach Red Miller’s firing, and Dan Reeves was brought in.


The Elway Era

In 1983 the team acquired John Elway from the Baltimore Colts, starting a new era. With Elway and Pro Bowl linebacker Karl Mecklenburg, the Broncos were a force in the 1980s, advancing to three Super Bowls. Memorable moments include “The Drive” against the Cleveland Browns and “The Fumble.” However, these efforts did not translate into Super Bowl victories. After losing another Super Bowl in 1990 and tensions with Elway, Reeves was let go after the 1992 season.


A New Chapter and First Titles

Mike Shanahan was hired as head coach in 1995, overseeing a premier offense with stars like Terrell Davis, Rod Smith, and Shannon Sharpe. In 1998 the Broncos won their first Super Bowl title by defeating the Green Bay Packers. The following season brought a second championship. But with Elway’s retirement, the team slumped to last place the next season.


Rebuilding and Return to Glory

Post-2000, the team made the playoffs sporadically but failed to make a deep run. Three years of missing the playoffs led to Shanahan’s firing in 2008. Elway returned to the organization in 2011 as executive vice president, a significant move for the rebuilding effort. Tim Tebow’s heroics led to a playoff win but ultimately resulted in his replacement by Peyton Manning in 2012. A 2013 Super Bowl loss to the Seahawks didn’t slow the team down, and by focusing on defense, they captured another AFC championship in 2015. The defense’s performance in Super Bowl 50 secured the third franchise title.


Recent Struggles

The retirement of Manning brought an end to the team’s consistent success. Finding a replacement proved difficult, and the five-year postseason streak was broken in 2016 with a 9-7 record. The team now faces the challenge of regaining its form and reclaiming its place among the NFL’s elite.

Ready to Win?


When you make your first deposit, and get up to $2,500 sign up bonus.

From the comfort of your mobile device, place your bets and have fun betting.


Trust the experts. BUSR is the first place people go for the latest odds in horse racing, sports and entertainment.