Jacksonville Jaguars

Jacksonville Jaguars

The Jacksonville Jaguars, an American professional gridiron football team from Florida, competes in the AFC of the NFL. They kicked off their journey alongside the Carolina Panthers in 1995 as an expansion team. From the beginning, the Jaguars demonstrated their commitment to success. With their first college draft pick, they welcomed All-Pro tackle Tony Boselli, who bolstered their offensive line. In their inaugural season, they posted a 4โ€“12 record. However, the following year saw a massive turnaround with a 9โ€“7 score, earning them a spot in the AFC playoffs.


Initial Playoff Success

The standout performances of quarterback Mark Brunell and wide receiver Jimmy Smith catapulted the team forward. They notched two postseason victories on the road but fell to the New England Patriots in the AFC championship game. Qualifying for the playoffs again in 1997, the Jaguars introduced running back Fred Taylor to their dynamic offense in 1998, clinching their first division title. In 1999, the Jaguars boasted the best record in the NFL with 14โ€“2, but a surprise upset by division rival Tennessee Titans in the AFC championship game stopped them.


A Time of Struggle and Revival

Between 2000 and 2003, the Jaguars saw a dip in their performance, unable to win more than seven games in any season. However, 2005 and 2007 marked their return to the postseason, where they were both times eliminated by the Patriots. Following these disappointments, the Jaguars’ play declined further. 2012 they hit rock bottom with an NFL-worst 2โ€“14 record. Since 2013, they’ve hosted one regular-season home game in London to enhance their international appeal. Even as their fan base grew abroad, their on-field performance suffered.


Renewed Spirit and Recent Achievements

A resurgence occurred in 2017 when the team rode a wave of momentum behind a young, star-studded defense. The Jaguars finished the season with 10 wins, claiming a division title. Winning their first two playoff games, they were just shy of their first Super Bowl appearance, losing to the Patriots after holding a 10-point lead in the fourth quarter of the AFC championship game. However, the glory was short-lived as the Jaguars tumbled down the standings in 2018, finishing the season with a 5โ€“11 record. The Jaguars clinched four division championships throughout their journey, two in the AFC Central (1998, 1999) and two in the AFC South (2017, 2022). They’ve made the playoffs eight times (1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2005, 2007, 2017, 2022), proving their mettle and resilience.

Ready to Win?


When you make your first deposit, and get up to $2,500 sign up bonus.

From the comfort of your mobile device, place your bets and have fun betting.


Trust the experts. BUSR is the first place people go for the latest odds in horse racing, sports and entertainment.