Seattle Seahawks

The Seattle Seahawks are an American professional gridiron football team located in Seattle. The Seahawks, who belong to the National Football League’s National Football Conference, boast a Super Bowl title from 2014 and three NFC championships.


Early Days and First Winning Season

The franchise and Tampa Bay Buccaneers first graced the field in 1976. Post an initial season in the NFC and a transition to the American Football Conference in 1977, and the team tasted its first winning season in 1978.

The Seahawks’ early days were shaped by quarterback Jim Zorn, running back Curt Warner, and wide receiver Steve Largent. Largent, the first Seahawk inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame, concluded his career as the NFL’s all-time leading receiver. In 1983, the team advanced to the AFC championship game under the stewardship of head coach Chuck Knox.


Years of Struggle and Transition

With Knox’s departure in 1991, the Seahawks hit a rocky patch, experiencing the worst season in franchise history with only two wins. The mid-90s were fraught with on-field struggles and off-field controversy as majority owner Ken Behring sought to relocate the team to Los Angeles in 1996.

Fortunately for Seattle fans, Paul Allen, billionaire Microsoft co-founder, purchased the Seahawks in 1997. His contribution extended beyond mere ownership. He successfully initiated public funding for a new football stadium, securing the team’s future in Seattle.


The Holmgren Era and Beyond

1999 Mike Holmgren was brought in as head coach and general manager. He transformed the Seahawks into a competitive team, drafting running back Shaun Alexander in 2000 and trading for quarterback Matt Hasselbeck the following year.

Following an NFL realignment 2002, the Seahawks transitioned back to the NFC. Simultaneously, the team moved into a new stadium, renowned for its deafening noise levels due to the passion of the Seahawks’ fan base, known as the 12th Man.

The Seahawks made the playoffs in five of their first six seasons back in the NFC and made their maiden Super Bowl appearance in 2006, albeit in a losing effort against the Pittsburgh Steelers.


Modern Era

A rebuilding phase was initiated post-2007 with several significant changes in the front office, coaching, and player personnel. The efforts paid off when the Seahawks became the first NFL team to qualify for the playoffs with a losing record in the 2010 regular season.

The team saw an upturn with the arrival of rookie quarterback sensation Russell Wilson and the formation of a dominant defense led by Richard Sherman and Earl Thomas. The top-ranked defense in the NFL and a 13-3 record in the 2013 season saw the Seahawks lift their first Super Bowl title by defeating the Denver Broncos.

The Seahawks again reached the Super Bowl in 2014 but were defeated by the New England Patriots. The Seahawks continued to be a strong force in the NFL in subsequent years, returning to the postseason multiple times, including a 10-6 record in the 2018 season and an 11-win season in 2019, led by a spectacular performance from quarterback Wilson.

Ready to Win?


When you make your first deposit, and get up to $2,500 sign up bonus.

From the comfort of your mobile device, place your bets and have fun betting.


Trust the experts. BUSR is the first place people go for the latest odds in horse racing, sports and entertainment.