Arizona Cardinals

Chicago Bears

The Chicago Bears, a renowned American professional football team, hail from Chicago and compete in the NFC of the NFL. Launched in 1920 as the Decatur Staleys by A.E. Staley, George Halas, later known as “Papa Bear,” relocated the team to Chicago in 1921. The Bears’ legacy was cemented with the capture of eight NFL championships and one Super Bowl title. The Halas Era: Innovations and Championships Upon moving to Chicago, the franchise was renamed the Bears in 1922 and quickly made a mark by winning the APFA championship. The team became recognized for their heated rivalry with the Green Bay Packers. Led by powerful runners like Red Grange and Bronko Nagurski, the Bears secured NFL championships in 1932 and 1933. Sid Luckman’s performance as a quarterback and the revolutionary T-formation offense helped the team win four more titles (1940, 1941, 1943, 1946) in the 1940s. A Mixed Bag: The ’60s and ’70s The 1960s brought another championship in 1963, followed by the drafting of greats like Dick Butkus and Gale Sayers in 1965. Though individually brilliant, they failed to lead the team to the playoffs. In 1975, the drafting of Walter Payton led to a resurgence, with Payton breaking Jim Brown’s record for all-time rushing yards. The Super Bowl Shuffle: Dominance in the ’80s The 1985 season was a high point, with the team winning the Super Bowl. Guided by coach Mike Ditka and quarterback Jim McMahon, the Bears were known for their crushing defense and a 15-1 regular-season record. “The Super Bowl Shuffle,” a rap song featuring team members, became a national sensation. Challenges and Resurgence: From the ’90s to the 2000s Despite limited success in the mid-1990s and early 2000s, the Bears made it to the Super Bowl in 2006 but were defeated by the Indianapolis Colts. The subsequent years were marked by struggle, and the team experienced two seasons (2013, 2014) with the highest opponents’ point totals in franchise history. A low point was reached in 2016 with a 3–13 record, tying the team record for most losses in a season. A New Beginning: The Matt Nagy Era In 2018, a significant change was made by hiring Matt Nagy as head coach. His first season saw a seven-win improvement, resulting in a division title and a close loss in the playoffs. The revitalized offense struggled in 2019, and the team won only eight games, missing the playoffs. Verdict From its inception and early dominance to periods of challenges and resurgence, the Bears’ story reflects triumphs and tribulations. With a history of powerful performances and iconic moments like “The Super Bowl Shuffle,” the team remains one of football’s most celebrated franchises.

Ready to Win?


When you make your first deposit, and get up to $2,500 sign up bonus.

From the comfort of your mobile device, place your bets and have fun betting.


Trust the experts. BUSR is the first place people go for the latest odds in horse racing, sports and entertainment.