Pittsburgh Steelers

Pittsburgh Steelers

Pittsburgh holds its reputation as one of the most successful franchises in the National Football League (NFL). Their record speaks for itself – six Super Bowl titles, eight American Football Conference (AFC) championships, and an endless stream of legends who wore their colors.


Hard Knocks: The Early Days

In 1933, Art Rooney, a Pittsburgh resident, laid the franchise’s foundations, pouring his winnings from a horse race wager into this venture. The team, originally called the Pittsburgh Pirates, went through tough times early on, qualifying for the playoffs only once in their first 37 years. The name was changed to the “Steelers” in 1940, paying homage to Pittsburgh’s primary industry. Not until head coach Chuck Noll arrived in 1969 did the team’s fortunes begin to change.


The Golden Era: Rise of the Steelers

Noll’s knack for talent scouting helped form the core of the team’s success, with five future Hall of Famers: “Mean” Joe Greene, Terry Bradshaw, Mel Blount, Jack Ham, and Franco Harris. The most memorable of their contributions, Harris’ “Immaculate Reception,” is one of the most iconic plays in professional football history. Four more players joined the Hall of Fame ranks in 1974 – Mike Webster, Lynn Swann, John Stallworth, and Jack Lambert – solidifying a dynasty that won four Super Bowls (1975, 1976, 1979, 1980) within six seasons. Their fierce defense, known as the “Steel Curtain,” became the stuff of legend, and their offense, led by Bradshaw, was a model of efficiency.


New Challenges, Same Steelers

The 1980s saw a slight dip in performance, with four postseason berths. Noll’s retirement in 1991 marked the end of an era, and Bill Cowher took the helm. In his 15-year tenure, Cowher led the team to the playoffs ten times, with one of his significant moves being the promotion of secondary coach Dick LeBeau to defensive coordinator. The Steelers’ defense of the mid-1990s was defined by this move, characterized by stars like future Hall of Fame cornerback Rod Woodson and linebackers Greg Lloyd and Kevin Greene.


Continual Success in the New Century

The Steelers surged into the new century under the leadership of second-year head coach Mike Tomlin, defeating the Seattle Seahawks in 2006 for a fifth Super Bowl title. Their record sixth Super Bowl championship came in 2009, winning against the Arizona Cardinals in a nail-biting finish. A third AFC championship followed in 2011, leading to a berth in Super Bowl XLV, which they lost to the Green Bay Packers. After an absence from the playoffs following the 2009 regular season, they returned to the playoffs after both the 2011 and 2014 regular seasons, even though they lost in the opening round each time. A 13-win season in 2017, tied for most in the NFL, showed their continued expertise, despite an upset in the opening playoff game. A drama-filled 2018 season marked their first miss of the postseason in five years.

Ready to Win?


When you make your first deposit, and get up to $2,500 sign up bonus.

From the comfort of your mobile device, place your bets and have fun betting.


Trust the experts. BUSR is the first place people go for the latest odds in horse racing, sports and entertainment.