Philadelphia Eagles

Philadelphia Eagles

Based in Philadelphia, the Philadelphia Eagles represent the American professional football family with distinction. With a commendable record in the National Football League (NFL), the Eagles have come to personify excellence in the National Football Conference (NFC). Their achievements are adorned with three NFL championships (1948, 1949, and 1960) and a Super Bowl title in 2018. Rooted in 1933, the Eagles emerged from the remnants of the former Frankford Yellow Jackets franchise. Despite a rocky start, with the team’s performance being on the downside for the initial 10 seasons, fortunes were about to change.


Highs and Lows

A slow regression followed their consecutive championships, and by the mid-1950s, the team’s performance started to dip. However, 1960 brought a fresh breeze. The Eagles, led by Norm Van Brocklin, Tommy McDonald, and Chuck Bednarik, won the franchise’s third NFL championship against the Green Bay Packers. But, as the sun set after a bright day, the Eagles’ success was short-lived, and they soon found themselves in an 18-year playoff drought.


The Era of Transformation

The transformational phase started in 1976 with the arrival of head coach Dick Vermeil. His emotional coaching style and the team’s powerful lineup, featuring the pairing of Ron Jaworski and Harold Carmichael, resulted in four straight playoff berths from 1978 to 1981. This phase witnessed the Eagles’ first Super Bowl appearance in 1981, although it ended in a loss to the Oakland Raiders.


Towards New Heights

With the dawn of 1999 came the duo of head coach Andy Reid and quarterback Donovan McNabb. Eight playoff berths in 10 years, five trips to the NFC championship game, and a Super Bowl appearance in 2005 marked this era, but a title still eluded them.


Touchdown to Glory

Finally, the Eagles’ wait for a Super Bowl title ended under head coach Doug Pederson’s leadership in 2016. Their 2017 season saw the breakout of quarterback Carson Wentz, leading to a division title. Despite Wentz’s injury during the regular season, backup quarterback Nick Foles led the Eagles to their first Super Bowl championship by pulling off an unexpected victory over the New England Patriots.


Present Strides

2020 saw the team bringing in Jalen Hurts, a dual-threat quarterback known for his passing and rushing abilities. Hurts replaced a struggling Wentz as the starting quarterback. The team underwent several changes, and Pederson’s dismissal marked the end of an era. The new coach, Nick Sirianni, inherited a team with a slow start in 2021 but managed to get the Eagles back into the playoffs. Hurts had a breakthrough season in 2022, leading the team to a 14โ€“1 record. Despite his shoulder injury, the team made it to the Super Bowl but lost to the Kansas City Chiefs in a nail-biting finish.

Ready to Win?


When you make your first deposit, and get up to $2,500 sign up bonus.

From the comfort of your mobile device, place your bets and have fun betting.


Trust the experts. BUSR is the first place people go for the latest odds in horse racing, sports and entertainment.