Formed in 1970, the NFC is part of the NFL, representing the pinnacle of professional American football. A product of the merger between the NFL and the AFL, the NFC represents a legacy of thirteen NFL clubs, contrasted with the AFC, which was born from the ten AFL teams and three NFL clubs. The NFC boasts 16 highly competitive teams today, thanks to expansions and realignments post-merger.



The teams are divided into four divisions – East, North, South, and West. From the Dallas Cowboys in Arlington, Texas, to the Seattle Seahawks in Seattle, Washington, each division is home to an exciting blend of teams. This arrangement ensures fierce competition and scintillating rivalries, keeping fans engaged throughout the season.


The Journey to the Super Bowl

The annual journey to the Super Bowl through the NFC is a thrilling saga. Each team in the conference fights tooth and nail to secure a spot in the playoffs based on their regular-season record. The Championship Game’s culmination of the NFC playoffs, the winner of which secures the George S. Halas Trophy and progresses to the Super Bowl to face the AFC champion.


A Unique Season Structure

The NFC’s season structure is a blend of tradition and innovation. A 17-game regular season schedule is designed for each team, keeping in mind the divisional rivalries and inter-divisional matches. Teams play against other teams in their division twice, home and away, in addition to eleven other games. This model ensures a varied and exciting season, with plenty of opportunities for dramatic turnarounds.


Fascinating History

The formation of the NFC, with its divisional alignment, was far from straightforward. There were five different alignment proposals, and Plan 3 was finally chosen. This plan saw the Dallas Cowboys, New York Giants, Philadelphia Eagles, St. Louis Cardinals, and Washington Redskins forming the Eastern division, with the remaining teams divided into Central and Western divisions.


Embracing Expansion

Since the merger, three expansion teams have joined the NFC. Seattle Seahawks and the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, who joined in 1976, were temporarily placed in the NFC and AFC before swapping conferences after a year. Seahawks made a comeback to the NFC following the 2002 realignment, while the Carolina Panthers, the last expansion team, joined in 1995.


NFC – A Stage for Competitive Parity

Parity is more evident among NFC teams. This results in a wider array of teams reaching the Super Bowl than the AFC. Since the 2002 division realignment, 12 different NFC teams have reached the Super Bowl, whereas AFC has sent only 8. The Seattle Seahawks remain the only NFC team to make back-to-back Super Bowl appearances since 2002.


NFC Champions

2022Philadelphia EaglesSan Francisco 49ers31-7
2021Los Angeles RamsSan Francisco 49ers20-17
2020Tampa Bay BuccaneersGreen Bay Packers31-26
2019San Francisco 49ersGreen Bay Packers37-20
2018Los Angeles RamsNew Orleans Saints26-23 (OT)
2017Philadelphia EaglesMinnesota Vikings38-7
2016Atlanta FalconsGreen Bay Packers44-21
2015Carolina PanthersArizona Cardinals49-15
2014Seattle SeahawksGreen Bay Packers28-22 (OT)
2013Seattle SeahawksSan Francisco 49ers23-17
2012San Francisco 49ersAtlanta Falcons28-24
2011New York GiantsSan Francisco 49ers20-17 (OT)
2010Green Bay PackersChicago Bears21-14
2009New Orleans SaintsMinnesota Vikings31-28 (OT)
2008Arizona CardinalsPhiladelphia Eagles32-25
2007New York GiantsGreen Bay Packers23-20 (OT)
2006Chicago BearsNew Orleans Saints39-14
2005Seattle SeahawksCarolina Panthers34-14
2004Philadelphia EaglesAtlanta Falcons27-10
2003Carolina PanthersPhiladelphia Eagles14-3
2002Tampa Bay BuccaneersPhiladelphia Eagles27-10
2001St. Louis RamsPhiladelphia Eagles29-24
2000New York GiantsMinnesota Vikings41-0


Ready to Win?


When you make your first deposit, and get up to $2,500 sign up bonus.

From the comfort of your mobile device, place your bets and have fun betting.


Trust the experts. BUSR is the first place people go for the latest odds in horse racing, sports and entertainment.