Get a $150 Racebook Bonus and 8% Daily Rebates

Join Now
Countdown to the 2023 Breeders' Cup

Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile

The world’s fastest Thoroughbreds compete in the Dirt Mile, sometimes achieving speeds nearing 40 M.P.H. in the stretch run around two turns. This race is contested at one mile for male and female horses, 3 years old and older.

The Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile has been one of the more intriguing races at the Breeders’ Cup in recent years. A number of runners have emerged as leading contenders for the following year’s Classic, including the competition’s 2020 victor, Knicks Go, who went on to win the most recent edition of the feature race.

You can learn everything you need to know about the Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile 2023 down below. It may be another spectacular renewal.

All you need to know about the Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile 2023 

  • • Race Date: Sat, Nov 4, 2023
  • • Post Time: Race 5th at 1:10 pm ET.
  • • Purse: $1,000,000
  • • Distance: 1 Mile
  • • Grade: 1
  • • Age: 3-year-olds & up
  • • Surface: Dirt
  • • Sex: Females
  • • Key prep races: Ballerina (G1), TCA Stakes (G2), Princess Rooney (G2).
  • How To Watch: NBC Sports

Learn about the rich history of the Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile since its inaugural running in 2007. Bet on the race, find the latest odds, and more!


Do you want to choose the possible winners of each of the 14 races of the Breeders’ Cup?

Go to the Challenge Series Results HERE


Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile Historical Records

With a one-mile speed of 1:39.06, Corinthian won the race for the first time in history in 2007. He also ran the slowest time ever to be recorded. With a time of 1:33.41, Albertus Maximus broke the speed record at Santa Anita.

The only horse to have won the Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile twice is Goldencents, who has won the race the most frequently.

He went on to win the 2013 Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile as a 4/1 shot after placing 17th in the 2013 Kentucky Derby and 5th in the Preakness Stakes. The following year, in 2014, he would accomplish the feat once more before quitting.

Javier Castellano, who scored triumphs in 2015 and 2018, and jockey Rafael Bejarano, who rode Goldencents for his two victories, are tied for the record for the most successful jockey. Goldencents’ owner, W.C. Racing, also holds the record for most victories. Goldencents, incidentally, received training from two distinct hands before his triumphs. Initially ridden by Doug O’Neill, he later transferred to trainer Leondro Mora. The only two trainers to have twice stood in the Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile winner’s circle are Jerry Hollendorfer and Todd Pletcher.

Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile - BUSR


Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile 2023 Odds

Jack Christopher’s Saratoga summer was highlighted by his victory in the H. Allen Jerkens (G1). As a result, he shot up to the position of overwhelming favorite at 8-5 (actually + 165) to win the Dirt Mile.

The winner of the Whitney (G1), Life Is Good, remained at 3-1. Flightline, who had been the 7-2 favorite, was dropped as it became clear he could manage a significant amount of ground with ease.

Find the latest Breeders’ Cup Odds for all the 14 races HERE


Betting Strategies for the Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile 2023

Before placing a wager on the Dirt Mile in 2023, it is imperative to study up on the betting patterns. Here are some important aspects that should be taken into account before making a choice.

  • • The favorite has triumphed in the race’s last two iterations (Life is Good- 2021, Knicks Go- 2020). However, in the prior six renewals, these were the only favorites that won.
  • • The ten prior winners were all trained in the US.
  • • Todd Pletcher has trained two winners from four entries in the Dirt Mile
  • • All 10 of the previous winners have participated in a Grade 1 race before.
  • • Nine of the previous 10 winners have made one or two starts inside the 90 days prior to the Dirt Mile.


How to bet on the Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile 2023

The simplest method to feel the thrill of the race is to place an online wager on horse racing. Huge markets, quick wagers, and complete comfort from any location with internet access on a computer or a mobile device.

What’s not to enjoy about placing your Breeders’ Cup wagers online?


Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile Odds

2020 Breeders' Cup Dirt Mile Odds and Post Position
1Art Collector6-1Thomas Drury Jr.Brian Hernandez Jr
10Complexity2-1Chad C. BrownJose Ortiz
5Knicks Go7-2Brad CoxJoel Rosario
12Owendale8-1Brad CoxFlorent Geroux
7Rushie20-1Michael W. McCarthyJavier Castellano
2Sharp Samurai15-1Mark GlattIrad Ortiz Jr.
3Silver Dust30-1W. Bret CalhounAdam Beschizza
4War of Will10-1Mark E. CasseTyler Gaffalione
6Mr. Money20-1W. CalhounGabriel Saez
8Pirate's Punch20-1Grant ForsterJorge Vargas Jr.
11Jesus' Team30-1Jose D'AngeloLuis Saez
9Mr Freeze6-1Dale RomansManuel Franco
13Pingxiang (AE)30-1Hideyuki MoriFlavien Prat

Hear from our customers

Testimonial | BUSR Bet with confidence
Testimonial | BUSR Bet with confidence
Testimonial | BUSR Bet with confidence

Conquer the Triple Crown with Our Premier Horse Racing Betting Platform

Join now and claim your exclusive 20% Cash first deposit bonus up to $1,000.

Ready to win big on the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, and Belmont Stakes? Join our premier horse racing betting platform today and get the edge you need to conquer the Triple Crown.

Claim your exclusive 20% Cash first deposit bonus up to $1,000 and start betting on the biggest horse racing events of the year. Don’t miss your chance to win big.


2021 Breeders' Cup Dirt Mile Results

15Life is GoodTodd PletcherIrad Ortiz, Jr.
23GinobiliRichard BaltasDrayden Van Dyke
36RestrainedvengenceVal BrinkerhoffEdwin Maldonado

2021 Breeders' Cup Dirt Mile Payouts

5Life is Good

$1.00 Exacta5-11$109.80
$0.50 Trifecta5-11-2$616.15
$0.10 Superfecta5-11-2-10$729.80
$1.00 Double6/5$38.80
$0.50 Pick 32/6/5$60.15

Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile Winners

YearWinnerAgeJockeyTrainerOwnerWin Time
2021Life is Good3Irad Ortiz, Jr.Todd PletcherWinStar Farm, LLC & CHC, Inc.1:34.12
2020Knicks Go4Joel RosarioBrad CoxKorea Racing Authority1:33.85
2019Spun to Run3 Irad Ortiz Jr.Juan Carlos GuerreroRobert P. Donaldson1:36.58
2018City of Light4J. CastellanoMichael McCarthyMr. & Mrs. William K Warren Jr.1:33.83
2017Battle Of Midway3Flavien PratJerry HollendorferDon Alberto Stable / WinStar Farm LLC1:35.20
2016Tamarkuz6Mike SmithKiaran McLaughlinShadwell Stable1:35.72
2015Liam's Map4Javier CastellanoTodd PletcherTeresa Viola Racing Stables1:34.54
2014Goldencents4Rafael BejaranoLeandro MoraW. C. Racing1:35.19
2013Goldencents3Rafael BejaranoDoug O'NeillW. C. Racing et al1:35.12
2012Tapizar4Corey NakataniSteven M. AsmussenWinchell Thoroughbreds1:35.34
2011Caleb's Posse3Rajiv MaraghDonnie K. Von HemelMcNeil Stables/Cheyenne Stables1:34.59
2010Dakota Phone5Joel RosarioJerry HollendorferTodaro / Halo Farms / Carver / Hollendorfer1:35.29
2009Furthest Land4Julien LeparouxMichael J. MakerKen & Sarah Ramsey1:35.50
2008Albertus Maximus4Garrett GomezVladimir CerinBrandon & Marianne Chase1:33.41
2007Corinthian4Kent DesormeauxJames A. JerkensCentennial Farms1:39.06

Breeders’ Cup Schedule

Friday: Juvenile - Juvenile Turf - Juvenile Fillies Turf - Juvenile Fillies - Juvenile Turf Sprint

Saturday: Classic - Turf - Distaff - Mile - Sprint - Filly and Mare Turf - Dirt Mile - Turf Sprint - Filly and Mare Sprint


Convert big plays into profitable days

Make your first deposit and instantly get your Breeders’ Cup Welcome Offer of $150.

BUSR is the best place to bet on horses, with exciting promos, fast payouts, early odds and much more. BUSR always want to put a smile on your face.

You are just one click away to enjoy the excitement and Adrenaline while cashing big!

So come onboard Join Now! and start betting and winning on BUSR.

Bet With confidence Bet with BUSR


Trust the experts. BUSR is the first place people go for the latest odds in horse racing, sports and entertainment.